Tasks gives your team a centralized place to create, assign, and track work inside NetGym — no external tools needed.
Tasks can be used to create:
Team tasks: assigned to any staff member for tasks like event prep, pre-shift checklists, or operational follow-ups.
Staff requests: assigned to managers for tasks like maintenance issues, themed class updates, supply needs, or anything that needs attention from the top.
This feature is only available on the Elevate Plan. Please contact your CSM or reach out to Support to upgrade your plan or enable this feature.
Permissions: Task permissions are managed under Settings → Permissions
All users have the ability to view tasks. Please review your roles and configure additional permissions to your liking:
- Manage task settings: configure/edit Statuses and Categories
- Edit and delete my and others' tasks: edit/delete all tasks
- Create tasks: create/edit tasks you've created or assigned to
How to access Tasks
Navigate to Business Ops in the left-hand sidebar → Tasks. Expand My Tasks in the sidebar to filter by:
Assigned: tasks assigned to you (auto selects the "Assigned to Me" filter)
Created: tasks you created
Subscribed: tasks you are following
Task counts appear next to each filter.
How to configure Tasks settings
If you have role permission, click the gear icon at the top right. Alternatively, click the gear icon within the Status and Category columns in the list view.
Task Statuses
Statuses helps track the current stage or progress of a specific task.
To add a new status: type the new status name and click + Add Status
To edit a status: click Edit on the status
Rename the status
Set it as the default status for new tasks
Count this status as "In Progress"
Count this status as "Done"
Select the status color
To reorder the status: drag and drop the statuses
To delete a status: click the trash can icon on the status
The default status is automatically applied when a new task is created. It cannot be deleted until a different status is set as default.
Task Categories
Categorizes make it easier to filter and sort through your workload — so your team can quickly find what's relevant to them. Default categories include General, Maintenance, Retail, and Social.
To add a new category: type the new category name and click + Add Category
To edit a category: click Edit on the category
Rename the category
Select the category color
To reorder the category: drag and drop the category
To delete a status: click the trash can icon on the category
How to create and manage Tasks
Navigate to Business Ops → Tasks → + New Task. Fill in:
Title (required): task title
Description: task context
Attachments: images and documents
Status: task progress
Priority: urgent, high, medium, or low
Location: task location
Team: team responsible for task
Assignee: user responsible for task. Only one user can be assigned.
Category: task category
Project: task project
Due Date: task dude date
Once complete, click Create task to save.
Task Management
Tasks provides various views, filtering, and editing options to support the multiple ways your team likes to work.
Views
List view: sortable, column-based overview
Board view: kanban-style layout organized by status
Calendar view: tasks visualized by due date
Filters
Search bar: to find to find tasks by keyword
Grouping dropdown: to group by status, category, or assignee
Filter menu: to narrow results by status, category, or assignee
Sortable columns: to sort by ascending or descending order
Checkbox filters: to toggle Hide completed or Assigned to me
If you prefer a filtered view as the default, click Save as default view.
Editing tasks
To directly edit Priority, Status, and Assignee: click into it within the list view
To bulk edit Status, Category, or Assignee: multi select tasks and select your options from the bottom toolbar
To edit all other fields: click into the task → Edit Task
To comment on a task: type in the comment section. You can @ a user to mention them in the task
To follow a task: subscribe yourself (or another user, if permissions allow)
To delete a task: click into the task → Delete Task
You can only edit/delete others' tasks if you have the Edit and delete my and others' tasks permission enabled for your role.
How to create and use Projects
Projects group related tasks together and can be used like a folder.
Navigate to Business Ops → Tasks → + New Project. Alternatively, you can click the + icon in the Projects panel on the left sidebar. Fill in:
Project name (required): project name
Description: project context
Header image: image for the project header when you click into a project
Start and end date: when the project is set to start and end
Visibility: roles that can view the project
Collaborators: teams and/or individuals that can collaborate on the project
Projects are private by default. Users only see projects when:
they created the project
they are added as a collaborator on the project
their role is included in the project's roles visibility list
Project Tracking
To keep tabs on your project, navigate to the Projects panel on the left sidebar and click into your project.
To track the progress of the project: view the progress bar at the top
To add a new task in the project: click + New Task
To edit the project name: click the pencil icon
Using Tasks on mobile
To open Tasks on the NetGym app, click the hamburger menu at the top left to open up your menu → Tasks.
Tasks are organized in three tabs: All, My Tasks, Projects and can be filtered and sorted. Priority is depicted by color and number of exclamation marks.
Tap + New task or + New project to create tasks and projects on the go. Within a task, you'll see all of the task fields as on web.
To update a task's status, click the status circle in the task list or click into the task itself.
How to manage Task notifications
Navigate to My Profile → Notifications → Task Notifications to select your email and push notification options for:
Assignments: When you are responsible for a task
Comments and replies: When someone comments or replies
Status changes: When a status changes (e.g. in progress → done)
Mentions: When a user @mentions you
Updates: When your task is updated
Reminders and deadlines: When your task is due within 3 days and a notification every day if a task is overdue
Subscriptions: When you follow a task
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I assign a task to multiple people?
Can I assign a task to multiple people?
No. Each task supports one assignee at a time. To involve additional team members, use comments and @mentions on the task.
Can I delete a status or category?
Can I delete a status or category?
Yes, but you'll need to set a different status as the default. Go to Task Settings and click the trash icon next to the status or category you want to remove.
Where do I find overdue tasks?
Where do I find overdue tasks?
Overdue tasks appear with the due date in red and an overdue indicator in the task list. To isolate them, open the Filters menu and filter by due date.
Why can't I see a task?
Why can't I see a task?
Unless you are a manager+, you will only see tasks that are assigned to your team and location.












